The World Press Photo Foundation has announced the winners of its 62nd annual World Press Photo of the Year contest and the 9th annual World Press Photo Digital Storytelling Contest. After announcing the finalists in February, now the best of the best have been selected to win the prestigious awards.


The winner of the 2019 World Press Photo of the Year is US photographer John Moore with his image ‘Crying Girl on the Border’. The photo also won the 1st prize in the Spot News category. Moore is a senior staff photographer and special correspondent for Getty Images. His photo shows a Honduran toddler Yanela Sanchez crying as she and her mother, Sandra Sanchez, are taken into custody by US border officials in McAllen, Texas, USA, on 12 June 2018.


After it was clicked, the photo was published worldwide and quickly went viral. I’m sure you have seen it, and you can read more about it here. US Customs and Border Protection later confirmed that Yanela and her mother hadn’t been among the thousands who had been separated by US officials. Still, the photo contributed to a strong public outcry over the controversial practice, which resulted in President Donald Trump reversing the policy on 20 June.

The World Press Photo Story of the Year award was introduced this year to put the spotlight on the stories that matter. This year, photographer Pieter Ten Hoopen (Netherlands/Sweden) wan this award for his series The Migrant Caravan. Hoopen is a member of Agency VU in Paris, as well as the founder of the company Civilian Act in Stockholm, Sweden.

The winning series documents the largest migrant caravan in recent memory, with as many as 7,000 travelers, including at least 2,300 children. The caravan, assembled through a grassroots social media campaign, left San Pedro Sula, Honduras, on 12 October, and as word spread drew people from Nicaragua, El Salvador and Guatemala.


Leave a comment

Send a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *