Yeddyurappa steps down as the CM even before the trust vote begins

It’s a huge shock for the BJP which emerged as the single largest party in Karnataka. Despite attaining 104 seats, BJP failed to capitalize as it couldn’t reach the magic figure.

With the defeat inevitable, newly sworn-in Karnataka Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa resigned on the floor of the Vidhan Soudha today ahead of a floor test to prove BJP’s numbers in the Assembly.
Yeddyurappa was highly emotional during his speech and said he was not moving the motion, but instead would go to the Governor to submit his resignation.
Scenes of absolute jubilation spread across where the MLAs from both parties were seated in the Karnataka Assembly as Yeddyurappa announced he will tender his resignation at the Raj Bhawan.

BJP, with 104 seats, was seven short of the required number of 111.
The Congress with 78 MLAs, the JD(S) with 36 and three others were also individually not in a position to form the government.
But with BJP now exiting the picture, the Congress-JD(S) combine has 114 seats, more than the required number.